top of page
  • Writer's pictureCathy Garland

Gracefull Participation

Updated: Jan 5, 2021

Declarations are what make intercession more than just a lengthy list of one-way requests.


In my last couple of posts, I've talked about two different kinds of spiritual declarations. First, the incredibly useful Truth Declarations (link here) and how they powerfully cancel lies spoken to us or over us. I've also talked about Sovereign Declarations (link here), which are by far my favorite because they simply depend on God's faithfulness, which I know I can count on. (It appeals to my efficient nature.)


On a scale of participation, Sovereign Declarations would be on the minimum participation required side while Truth Declarations are toward the other end of the spectrum. Sovereign Declarations will happen regardless of what we or anyone else does—whether we declare them on earth or not. Truth Declarations require that we say them, over and over, absorbing them and letting them work their change. They don't work unless they are spoken and believed.

On the most-participation-required side of the scale, I believe, are the Intercessory Declarations. You could call these whatever you'd like if "intercessory" doesn't fit, but for me, they are the declarations that I use in my intercession time.


Without Intercessory Declarations, intercession would be simply a long, tedious prayer list, hoping I'd hit the heart of God and pray the "right" thing.

My time of intercession for someone or something often begins with my request from God for a Sovereign Declaration. For example, I was praying for a child whose kidneys were failing. She was bloated beyond recognition from water retention. Her skin was yellow. She was miserable. It was awful. The doctors had given up hope and couldn't operate until she was in a more stable place.


First, I asked God to sovereignly declare that she would live and not die (Psalm 118:17). When He did so, I declared it and then proceeded to bring up to God each of the issues that the child was facing: the need for a new kidney, water to be released properly, underlying infection to be cleared, etc. I brought each item to God and asked Him how He wanted me to pray or what He wanted to change. I often asked Him "Will you give me the authority over _________? How do You want to move here? How do you want me to command this?" Whatever He said to declare, I declared. Whatever He said to say, I said. When He did not give permission or told me to declare something different, I did. They each came to pass...100%. The child is fully recovered.


In another instance, a friend contacted me about a baby that was born paralyzed and barely breathing. The doctors were quick to write the child off, but because they had good insurance, they did some life-saving measures. My friend texted me while in the room, moments after the life-saving measures were taken. I immediately hit the ground praying. First, I asked the Lord to declare that the child would live and not die. He also gave me a quick vision of the child growing up perfectly normal in health, playing guitar on a stage, singing, and telling his story. This gave me the confidence to move forward.


I prayed through every system of the child's body, every organ, and type of cell. I'm no doctor, so it was all the Holy Spirit. There were systems I prayed for that I barely had heard of. To each organ and system, it was often a simple command to live, work as Christ intended, and submit to the authority of Christ. Other times, it was more in-depth. Sometimes it was to command an angel (after it was approved by God) to do something. Sometimes it was to bind certain things. I don't even recall all the things I prayed! It was probably an hour or longer, as I lost track of time entirely.


My friend later texted me that even the doctors were remarking on the miraculous turn-around. I would never claim that it was all me—I'm quite certain others were praying. But I know I was a participant in that child's miracle.


As you can see, these declarations are participatory. They require that we have a real and vigorous conversation with the God who heals us, declaring what He says to declare, binding what has been bound in Heaven, and ceasing when He is done.


Grace intercedes.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page