top of page
  • Writer's pictureCathy Garland

Gracefull Requests

Updated: Dec 1, 2020

Several people have asked what prayers they should be praying over their children, beyond the normal sweet-dreams-and-protection prayers.


A mentor of mine suggests several prayers for different ages and in particular Psalm 90 over the whole family. I think that's a good one to start with and covers the full gambit of protection, wholeness, and health.


Since one of my main focuses for my own children is that they hear and obey the voice of God, I personally have recently started praying the gist of Ephesians 1:17-20 over my children.


"I ask that Jesus Christ give you a spirit of wisdom and of revelation in the knowledge of Him..."


So here, I am asking for both a spirit of wisdom and a spirit of revelation in the knowledge of Christ because I know that a relationship with Christ requires both wisdom (which God promises to all who ask) AND revelation. I believe that a relationship with Christ is a response to Who He reveals Himself to be, every day, every hour, every moment. It is a revelationship.


"I ask that the eyes of your heart be enlightened, so you may know the hope of His calling..."


Here, I am asking that the eyes of their heart will not only be opened but opened to the truth (enlightened) or Truth, since He is doing the calling—both to want to do and to do His will.


"...the riches of the glory of His inheritance as a saint..."


Here, I am asking that they will know their inheritance: everything found in the character and nature of God, made available to them in their time of need. Also known as grace.


"...and the surpassing greatness of His power toward us who believe."


Here, I am reinforcing their path toward belief—not forcing, I am called as a mother to reinforce their path toward belief. I am also asking that they will know intimately and confidently the power of God in whatever way He chooses to display it.


At times, I find I am asking for these things for my children, other times I feel prompted to declare them. Other times, wordlessly or in words, I intercede for these things for my children. Depends on the time I have allotted by the end of the day or the stirrings in my spirit by that time of night. Usually, it ends up being about ten minutes, which is certainly not a long time for the return on investment!


Here's a similar, simple prayer I pray regularly for my children, my family, and my nation:


"O Lord, I pray, open his/her/our eyes that we may see." (Found in 2 Kings 6:17, when Elisha prayed his servant would see what he saw: the armies of angels surrounding their enemies.)


They say seeing is believing—it probably takes more than that, of course. But it certainly starts there.


Grace opens our hearts to see.


---

Note: A good resource I've found on prayer cards for children, for you to pray for your children/husband/marriage/pregnancy, and for you to pray through anxiety/storms/challenges can be found here at the Daily Grace Company. I am not a brand ambassador or affiliate or anything nor are any of my family/friends that I am aware of. Just thought I'd share a good resource: https://thedailygraceco.com/collections/5-sale/products/prayers-for-my-children


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page