top of page
  • Writer's pictureCathy Garland

Gracefull Entrances

Updated: Jul 15, 2019

My 4.5-year-old son loves to play a "game" where he packs up his backpack or suitcase and goes on a trip (in another room). Then after a few moments, he runs back into the room, saying, "Mommy! I'm home!" My role is to drop whatever I'm doing, reach down to throw my arms around him and say "You're #home! I'm so glad to see you! I missed you when you were gone." Then we give each other lots of kisses and a big squeeze. He'll repeat this game until his love-tank is full.


This, of course, means I have to stay focused on him even while he's in the other room. I can't miss the #entrance or it ruins the game.


When I think about significant entrances, I think of my mother who immediately walks in her own front door, kicks off her shoes, greets and serves whoever is already there. Her gladdened face says eloquently "I'm glad to see you! I missed you when you were gone." She doesn't miss the entrance and immediate need to focus on the individuals. Who cares about the pile of shoes at the door? She doesn't. She makes it obvious that she cares more about the people by tossing aside her purse and kicking off her shoes.


The whole reason God extends us #grace is to serve and love people, not to make our own lives easier. Which is why I hate the "unmerited favor" definition of grace some people use. That definition is so "me-focused" and grace is really all about the others.


I use this definition instead:


Grace is everything found in the character and nature of God, made available to us in the perfected moment of need.

In business, a gracefull entrance that focuses on the client means creating the space (mentally and physically) to welcome and greet. Ever been to Moe's? "Welcome to Moe's!" shouted by each employee will perk anyone up immediately. Ever been to a business that didn't have anyone available or even there? I have, and immediately felt lost and confused. For example, large hardware stores - I would rather stub my toe and suffer a paper cut than visit them. Seriously.


Millions of dollars are spent on entrances, windows, and staff to greet because businesses lose potential customers over this very thing. Churches lose potential members. Or gain them, if they understand the significance of the entrance.


Grace understands the significance of entrances.


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page