top of page
  • Writer's pictureCathy Garland

Gracefull Approaches

Updated: Dec 14, 2019

As a woman, manager of women and teams of women, I have over 25 years of experience developing (read: discipling) women and I can tell you I have experienced this truth unequivocally:


A one-size-fits-all approach to develop others is worthless every time.

Don't bother. It's not worth the time to implement even as a foundation, because then you're starting off wrong from the very beginning.


This is something I'm grappling with right now and in the month(s) to come. I'm asking myself what has worked and what has not? And if people (clients and employees) are a company's or ministry's most valuable resource (not just lip-service but really, actually, truly), then we have to demonstrate that every day, to each person, every time. What does that look like?


Bottom line: I think it means we actually have to CARE. And caring is a grace.


I believe diversity programs often fail because they force recognition instead of foster care. Women's Leadership/Mentoring Groups often fail because group-think flourishes instead of individuality. Inclusivity initiatives often fail because "#inclusivity to the point of obscurity" is not actually caring.


In my life, everything revolves around the Truth, as a person, that I know: Christ Himself. He was the perfect example of someone who intimately knew the people around Him (He even knew their hearts, which is harder for us non-divine-humans) and developed them. The people He developed impact millions even today.


Practically, that means that I take the time to care to develop my marriage and my relationship with my spouse. It means that I take the time to care and get to know my developing 4-year-old son and almost-2-year-old daughter. It means that I get to know the ladies in my Bible Study and learn how to pray with them and for them. It means I get to know my neighbors, near and far. It means I stay open to encounters with strangers who check me out at the grocery store, bring my food to my table, etc.


In business, it means that I get to know each employee and develop them, embracing joy for them, personally, instead of the fear that if I continue to develop them, they will likely move on to "greener pastures". That goes for ministry too.


If we're too big and too busy to care intimately about each individual in our circle of influence, then we're too big and busy.

Here's a practice this article/management tip from Harvard Business Review popped up yesterday in my last run-through of my inbox before leaving the company:



Make Time to Focus on Each Employee’s Professional Growth


Managers are supposed to help their teams develop professionally — and great managers tailor their development efforts to each person. Doing so helps you understand the nuances of how people are growing week by week and month by month. At the end of each week, take 15 minutes to write down recent steps you’ve taken to support team members. Note what patterns you’re seeing for each employee, opportunities for future growth, and feedback you’d like to give. As you gain insight into someone’s progress, find a few minutes to pull the person aside to discuss it. You don’t have to wait for their formal review; engaging with people on an ongoing basis shows that you know what success looks like for them and are working to help them achieve it. When employees see that you take their growth seriously, they’re more likely to give you their best efforts.



#Grace cares about people.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page